Irish Senior Nationals 2024 – Preview

Fitzwilliam LTC is set to play host to a stellar line-up for the 2024 national championships from the 9th-11th of Feb. With the profile of Irish Squash and our young stars on the rise, this year’s tournament is set to be a titanic battle for the coveted crown of national champion.

This year’s event will be headlined by the Men’s A and Women’s A titles, while the Men’s B will also be up for grabs. 

The women’s draw will feature reigning champion Breanne Flynn, who has hit top form at the perfect time as she looks to retain her title, having added a Leinster Senior Open title and a Mount Pleasant Senior Open victory to her accolades last month.

Despite Breanne’s recent success and pedigree, it’s Lisburn’s Hannah Craig who enters the Women’s draw as the no.1 seed after a terrific start to her pro-circuit career. Hannah is based in the US and has recently cracked the top 100 world rankings with some impressive performances on a global stage including a silver medal at the Costa Rican Open. 

There are plenty of other players across the Women’s draw who will hope to have a say after fine seasons including Emma Lundy (3 seed), Ciara Moloney Doheny (4 seed) and Hannah McGugan (5 seed). 

On the men’s side, Sam Buckley, our men’s reigning champion and national number 1 is also starting to peak at the perfect time, as he looks to become the men’s national champion for the third straight year. Off the back of an impressive WSF Men’s Team World Championship in New Zealand, where Sam beat Malaysian Addeen Idrakie, the world no.64 in straight sets and a recent Mount Pleasant Senior Open title, Sam will be hoping to have things his own way this weekend. 

However, if recent form is anything to go by, Sam will have his work cut out by his fellow WSF Men’s Team World Championship teammates, Conor Moran (2 seed), Oisin Logan (3 seed) and Michael Crevean (4 seed). Oisin is coming off the back of Leinster Senior Open title, while Conor already has a Curragh Squash Open and Munster Squash Open to his name this year. Michael was also crowned a provincial champion this season, winning the Ulster Senior Open. 

With all 4 top seeds having titles in their seasons arsenal, it will be tough for anyone else to compete, however Sean Conroy (9 seed) may have something to say having reached the final in 2023 and 2022.  

Finally, the Men’s B division will feature Fawwad Siddiqui (1 seed), Anuroop Balakrishnan Sobha (2 seed) and Nabil Merchant (3 seed) as they battle a field of 13 to become the Men’s B national champion after Dara O’Flynn was crowned champion in 2023. 

Action will be live-streamed over the course of the weekend on Irish Squash TV 

Full Draw & Schedule can be found here