Sports Capital Grant for Thurles

Sports Capital Grant
Thurles Squash Club were delighted to learn this week that we have received a €35,000 sports capital grant. This grant will greatly assist us in putting in two new World Squash Federation approved standard floors, the introduction of a new LED Lighting System and

Some of our new members pictured here with one of our club coaches Gerry Connaughton at a Beginners Coaching session. There is great potential in this group. A new Squash Beginners Course is starting in November, check out the club Facebook page for more information. From left to right, Gerry Connaughton, Tammy Raven, Tracy Rooney, Lorraine Kelly, Michelle Kelly, Amy O’Brien & John Kennedy. Missing from the photo Orla Darmody.

many other proposed improvements which will cater for our rapidly expanding membership. Thank you to Deputy Micheal Lowry, Minister Alan Kelly, Deputy Noel Coonan and ALL the other public representatives who worked in the background to help secure this wonderful grant award.

Online Booking
Our new online booking system has commenced. Paid members can now book their games from a remote site by logging onto
Our paper bookings is now obsolete . If you have not yet registered for the new online booking system or paid your membership simply visit Ashling in the Golf Club Office. Office Mon-Fri 10am-5pm or contact a committee member for assistance. Rory (Chairperson) 0866001010, Belinda (Secretary) 0873922797, Gerry (Treasurer) 0872634313

Club Teams
Thurles Squash Club are delighted to be fielding three teams in the upcoming Munster Leagues. Last year we had two teams last year so a third team is a reflection of our thriving club. Last year our Division 4 team won Munster Honours which was the highlight. Thanks to Liam Maher for coordinating this years teams.

We wish the following the best of luck in their upcoming competitions.
Where they are from will give you a sense that the club has members dispersed throughout the county and even Kilkenny.

Division 2
Ciaran Maher (Holycross), Karl McLoughney (Thurles), Kevin Moloney (Golden) (captain), Dara Butler (Loughmore), David Broderick (Thurles)and Tony Maher (Holycross)

Division 3
John O’Donnell (Cashel), Micheal Hassett (Thurles) (captain), Martin Gleeson (Gortnahoe), Pat O’Donnell (Cashel), Darragh O’Donnell (Cashel)

Division 4
Liam Maher (Boherlahan), Luke Tough (Tipperary Town), Gerry Connaughton (Cashel)(captain), Adrian Cleere (Ballingarry) Kieran Slattery (Dundrum) John Cahill (Urlingford) David Corcoran (Thurles) Rory McLoughney (Thurles)