Sportswomen of the Year Awards


The awards ceremony took place Friday 19th December in the Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin. Madeline Perry got the December 2013 award having won her 14th National title. This was Madeline’s 9th award in this event, which has only been running for 10 years. This is a record in the event and a testament to her superb achievements and consistency over the last decade.

As Madeline was in Egypt playing in the Women’s World Championships, she could not collect her award, so Irish Squash President Ed Dunne received it on her behalf.

Katie Taylor won the overall Sportswoman of the Year for her amazing record of a 5th World title a couple of months ago. She is unbeaten in 10 years across the world and has twice been voted, best athlete in the world across all weight divisions.

It was a great event, heralding the best Sportswomen in Ireland and giving them deserved recognition for their achievements.

For a short video of the event see HERE