West of Ireland Open

West of Ireland Tournament Summary

A great weekend was had by all at this year’s west of Ireland squash championships held once again at Galway Lawn Tennis Club. 40 competitors made up the 3 sections of the graded tournament which provided a host of great matches to watch and play.

As far as the A section goes the first round provided some good encounters with some good results for local boys Ronan Tully who beat Kevin Moore in an epic 5 setter to move up the A section rankings and Conor O’Shea who beat the always impressive Anthony Lyons to hop up a few positions also.

Brian Byrne played some very steady squash to progress to the final where he met Arthur Gaskin who had been struggling all week with illness. Despite Arthur getting to a 2-0 lead He had to concede after Brian had played an excellent game to take the third to make it 2-1. Many congratulations to Brian – this years west of Ireland open A section champion.

The bottom of the A and top of the B section saw some good battles develop. This latest development with the A/B playoff is great and offers the opportunity for a scalp by one of the B section players. Shane Cluskey another local player had a great weekend racking up 3 victories in a row before finally loosing to Kevin Moore in the play off. He still managed to end up 16th in the A section and thoroughly deserved to be there. Some fantastic performances from Theo Anderson saw him climb the ranks as well to finish in 14th position in the A section having stated well down in the B section. Congratulations to Cormac MacMahon for winning the B section plate as well.

The C section was won by Jack Davies a junior squash player from Galway Lawn Tennis Club. He managed to come back from 2-0 to win 3-2 in a great effort which saw him diving all over the court. Congratulations to Martin O’Sullivan, the runner up in the C section and to Brian Dowley the C section plate winner.

All in all a great weekend in Galway and I would like to extend my sincere thanks to all those who took part in the tournament particularly those who travelled long distances to support the event.

 See you next year.

 Andre Davis

Finishing Positions of the West of Ireland Squash Championship

A section


1 Brian Byrne

2 Arthur Gaskin

3 Keith Moran

4 Conor O’Hare

5 Conor O’Shea

6 Stuart Hadden

7 Paul Linehan

8 Ronan Tully

9 Darren Waring

10 Ciaran McCoy

11 Dara O’Flynn

12 Michael Conroy

13 Kevin Moore

14 Theo Anderson

15 Neal Pollock

16 Shane Cluskey


B Section


1 Charlie Sturm

2 Anthony Lyons

3 David Cassidy

4 Mark Gilliland

5 Andre Davies

6 Shane Shevlin

7 Tony Knights

8 bye due to withdrawal

9 Cormac MacMahon

10 Howard Gill

11 Nick Leeming

12 Eoghan Lynch

13 Aidan McDonnell

14 Dave Lalor

15 James Barrett

16 Curnan Reidy


C Section


1 Jack Davies

2 Martin O’Sullivan

3 Tom Cantwell

4 Gavin McLoughlin

5 Brian Dowley

6 David Murphy

7 Joe O’ Flaherty

8 Eamon Reilly

For the full draw see here

Venue: Galway Lawn Tennis Club
Threadneedle Road
Phone: 091522353
Website: www.gltc.ie
Tournament contact
Name: Andre Davies
Phone: 0862197268
Email: andredavies920@hotmail.com