One of the great aspects of our game of squash is that you can play and enjoy playing competitively at all levels and all ages. All players may not be aware of the options available to us as our years advance.

Squash players, women and men, represent Ireland in Internationals against England, Scotland and Wales every year, in alternate venues from the age of 35 to over 75 years. Selection for these teams is through playing in the Masters tournaments in the four provinces and the Irish Masters Open between October and March of the following year.

european squash masters porto

The open tournaments are competitive, usually played on Friday night and two games on Saturday followed by a dinner and social event on the Saturday night. For those of us who enjoy playing, competing and mixing with like minded others, the events are a wonderful way of enjoying our sport and extending our competitive lives.

Selection for the Irish Master teams is open to all, has fair rules and can only be achieved by playing in at least some of the 5 tournaments each year. All players coming up to 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65 or 70 should consider entering, and a welcome is guaranteed to all players.

Information on these events can be ontained by contacting Paul Nugent (info@irishsquash.com) at the Irish Sport HQ or Ciarán Roche Masters Secretary 087 690 5186 (chroche@eircom.net)


Masters Home Internationals 2017

Players who represented IRELAND in the Home Internationals 2017

W 35/40’s W 45’s W 45’s B W 50’s W 55’s
Audrey Kieran       Jennifer Dillon        Patricia Ryan         Michelle Jackson     Anne Costelloe
Jo Hussey              Sarah Berkeley     Anne Costelloe       Mary O’Duffy          Christine Lowry
Lynda Dunlop         Beverley Scott       Saoirse O’Sullivan   Caroline Coyle         Christine Mooney
Lorraine Palmer     Joan Gorham        Lynda Dunlop         Gay Grant               Dympna Riordan
Patricia Ryan         Orla O’Doherty      Sylvia Doyle             Sylvia Doyle           Evelyn Hanrahan
Bernie Geoghan    Patricia Rowantree      
M 35’s M 40’s M 45’s M 50’s M 55’s
Nigel Peyton       John Hurley                Dara O’Flynn                Seán Mc Kee            Dave Lawlor
Ronan Peyton     Rob Staunton             Derek Ryan                  Michael Mc Kee        Vincent Bradley
Kevin Moore       Nick Staunton            Brian Lawlor                    Gary Coleman          John Dineen
Keith Moran       Neal Murphy              Jonathon Simpson         Tom Crowe              Pat Mc Crisken
Rory Gilligan      Dara O’Flynn      David Cassidy Tommy Horgan        Mike Ellis
Kevin Knox        Andre Davies             Peter Birch     Karam Singh            Seamus Hickey 
    Stephen Fasenfeld            
M 60’s M 65’s M 70’s M 75’s  
Martin Mc Donnell            Robert Peel                     Frank Fahey                     Myron Evans  
Pat Hanley                         David Gotto                    Ciarán Roche                   Alex Richardson  
Michael Conlon                Seamus Daly Harry Cullen Derek Patterson  
Herbert Cotter                  Johnny Donovan             Clive Gilmour                   Brian Mc Nally  
Gerry Delaney                  Martin Maher                  Myron Evans    
Derry O’Connor                Barry Cullinane              Joe Whelan