Masters Squash

One of the great aspects of our game of squash is that you can play and enjoy playing competitively at all levels and all ages. All players may not be aware of the options available to us as our years advance.

Squash players, women and men, represent Ireland in Internationals against England, Scotland and Wales every year, in alternate venues from the age of 35 to over 75 years. Selection for these teams is through playing in the Masters tournaments in the four provinces and the Irish Masters Open between October and March of the following year.

european squash masters porto

The open tournaments are competitive, usually played on Friday night and two games on Saturday followed by a dinner and social event on the Saturday night. For those of us who enjoy playing, competing and mixing with like minded others, the events are a wonderful way of enjoying our sport and extending our competitive lives.

Selection for the Irish Master teams is open to all, has fair rules and can only be achieved by playing in at least some of the 5 tournaments each year. All players coming up to 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65 or 70 should consider entering, and a welcome is guaranteed to all players.

Information on these events can be ontained by contacting Paul Nugent ([email protected]) at the Irish Sport HQ or Gerry Callanan, Masters Secretary  -([email protected]

Connacht Representative – Dave Lalor

Leinster Representative – Karam Singh

Munster Representative – John Dinnen

Ulster Representative – Vacant

Over 35/40’s Representative – Kevin Knox

Masters Home Internationals

Players who represented IRELAND in the Home Internationals 2019